Chopin beats & droppin Brahms.


Today
April 22, 2010, 9:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I spent over an hour holding down and consoling a two and a half year old screeching at the top of his lungs, two inches away from my ear because we were trying to insert an IV in his tiny hand

Today I cleaned up over 13 diapers, half of them exuding a pungent odor only comparable to the apocalypse.

My hand was also kissed and caressed by the face of a child,
because that was his way of saying Thank you.

as well as mumbling “I ruv you” right before he kissed my cheek.

Today I spoke to parents, and followed up on G-Tube teaching,
spoke to doctors, social workers, and developed a new respect for pediatric resident MD’s who work 80 hour shifts every 5 days, and get paid substantially less than RN’s.

Today I heard my lucky song on a mixtape I just received from an old friend I haven’t talked to in forever.

Today I gave IV Ativan and Dilaudid to a baby who couldn’t verbalize pain.
Today I gave a popsicle to a 9 year old because I promised I would if she drank all her medicine.

Today I was the nurse of three children, one of them whose parents are incapable of taking care of them because they are imprisoned by prostitution or drug dealing.

Today I laughed.. HARD,
tweeting my adventures in between lag times,
just like every day I’m on the floor.

Today,

I realized I chose the right profession.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

